Travel plans for the rest of 2013

By

Here’s a short summary of where I’ll be and what I plan to do till Dec 2013.

1 – August 2013 – Fly from the Maldives to Chennai, India. Work at Kallialay Surf School in Pondicherry for about four weeks. Explore Auroville. Do yoga. Practice my French.

Empty surf in the east coast of India - Photo: Jon Bowen/Flickr

Empty surf in the east coast of India – Photo: Jon Bowen/Flickr

Kallialay Surf School organised India’s first ever international surf competition in 2012, called the Summer Swell Challenge.This year it’s held over the weekend of 23rd-25th August. In exchange for lessons, I’m going to help them with marketing, social media and taking photos for them. This will be a good opportunity to meet some ‘cool’ people and network.

2 – End of August 2013 – Fly from Chennai, India to London, UK. Visit friends in London and Bristol.

I’m excited to see autumn in the UK, much less experience my first time in Europe. I have never seen a real autumn before. There is something about leaves turning red and falling, it’s beautiful. The only place I have seen anything close is at my last work place, Soneva Fushi, Maldives.

I’m also planning to take some mosaic art classes in Bristol. I’ve always wanted to make mosaic art ever since I discovered it in a book in my high school library. This seems like a good opportunity to finally take lessons.

3 – Mid September till mid December 2013 -Taghazout, Morocco. Stay in Surf Berbere surf camp for 3 months to do ASI Level 1 surf instructor course.

I will be learning to surf as a complete beginner and by the end of the 3 months, get certified as a beginner level surf instructor. This way when I come back to the Maldives, I can teach women and girls to surf. What’s great about this 3 months course is that I’ll get French lessons again, do yoga daily, and teach English to community school children as well as learn to surf. Looking forward to my first time in Africa!

Camel on the beach at Taghazout - Photo: heatheronhertravels.com

Camel on the beach at Taghazout – Photo: heatheronhertravels.com

Nothing definite after that. The idea is to do some volunteer work at surf camps to get some experience in teaching beginner surfers and take a lot of surf photos. I also plan to volunteer at an organic farm through WWOOF or workaway.info to learn more about, well, organic farming, so I can start growing my own food and do composting when I come back to the Maldives.

What are your travel goals and plans for the rest of 2013? Does it involve learning something new? If you have any recommendations for the above places, I would love to know.