In Photos: Trekking the Panchase Circuit, Nepal

By

Last February I went on a four day trek on the Panchase Circuit outside Pokhara. I chose this trek as it was regarded as easy and you can go through different villages up the hills, experience village life and stay at local teahouses. This trek was also not as touristy as the other more popular ones like Poon Hill trek and Sarangkot Hill trek.

This trek was one of the best things I have done in my travels. I saw how people lived in remote villages up in the hills only reached by foot by walking 2-3 days. I couldn’t believe it when I saw that walking was their main mode of transportation. I learnt about hard work when I saw how the women walked up and down the hills everyday to get fodder for their livestock. I learnt how it feels to not have electricity or heating in cold weather. If you want a fairly lazy trek in Nepal and time to sit down with the villagers and listen to their stories, I recommend this trek, and I recommend trying Purna Yoga Trek, as their guides were informative and helpful, they employ college youth as guides, and they include yoga into their treks.

Here are some of my favourite moments from the four days.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA735OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA10OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Have you been trekking in Nepal or would like to go? I’m definitely going back.